European Financial Services Roundtable

The European Financial Services Round Table (EFR) brings together chairmen and chief executives of leading European banks and insurance companies. The purpose of the EFR is to contribute to the European public policy debate on issues relating to financial services and to the financial stability with the completion of the single market in financial services. Paul Achleitner is Chairman of the EFR. Theo Timmermans was named Secretary General in September 2015.

The EFR is also engaged in the lessons to be drawn from the financial crisis to render the financial system more resilient. The EFR deals in particular with the global G20 agenda, regulation and supervision, consumer protection and pensions. Current priorities are the Growth & Investment Agenda, the Digital Agenda & Cyber Security, Sustainable Finance & Climate Change, Prudential Regulation The EFR has published, inter alia, positions, reports and press releases on those priority issues as well as on a wide range of topics such as European retail market, G20 agenda, the integration of pensions in Europe, harmonisation of regulation and supervision and consumer protection.

Member companies

The EFR has 23 members, the Chairmen of CEO’s of:

  • Aegon
  • Allianz
  • Aviva
  • AXA
  • Barclays
  • BBVA
  • BNP Paribas
  • Crédit Agricole
  • Credit Suisse
  • Deutsche Bank
  • Assicurazioni Generali
  • HSBC
  • ING
  • Mapfre
  • Nordea
  • Prudential plc
  • Royal Bank of Scotland
  • Santander
  • Societé Générale
  • Swiss Re
  • UBS
  • UniCredit
  • Zurich Insurance

Ofer Abarbanel – Executive Profile

Ofer Abarbanel online library

Ofer Abarbanel online library

Ofer Abarbanel online library